Story #18

My stomach was growling, no, screaming at me. I was so fucking hungry. I opened my fridge. Cool air hit my face. I had about a quarter of milk left in the carton, butter, and about 3 bottles of beer. I looked in the freezer and there was nothing, but ice cubes. I sighed. My hands were beginning to shake and I looked a little pale.

I threw open the pantry and there were some canned vegetables, mainly for show. I never ate that food. I can’t believe I had already eaten all of the leftovers from 2 nights ago. It was 11pm and I was starving at this point. I decided that I needed to go out and get food.

It was Memorial Day weekend and everyone was out tonight. That means the drunks were going to be out. Perfect. I drove until I parked at a parking lot next to a bar and a Whataburger near my place. I turned off my lights and strolled into the bar.

The speakers were blaring country music while drunken couples danced on the dance floor. I assessed every single one of them. A woman sitting alone at the bar swiped right and left on what appeared to be her Tinder app. I approached her.

“Would you mind if I bought you a drink?”

Her eyes lit up and she nodded yes, way too eager for attention. Nice. We chatted about nondescript things. Next thing I knew it was last call at the bar.

“Are you hungry,” I asked her.

“Starving,” she replied.

“Just like me,” I thought to myself.

We walked to the Whataburger next door. She ate a large fry and nothing else. Very cheap date. I picked at a burger until she finished eating. “May I walk you to your car?” She smiled and agreed.

I allowed her to walk in front of me. She was cute. She had dark brown hair that fell to the top of her shoulders and the body of a model; although, she was fairly built. It was odd that she didn’t have anyone talking to her.

“Would you like to come over,” she asked. She playfully twisted her hair with her finger, as if to be more cute.

“Sure, I’ll follow you to your place.”

“You can just come in my car and I’ll take you back afterwards. Is that okay?” She sweetly smiled. Very innocent, just like I liked. I shook my head ‘okay’ and hopped in the car with her.

The roads wound and the streets were dark. Oddly, not many people were on the road where she was going. She drove for twenty more minutes, bobbing her head to the radio and stealing glances at me every now and then. Finally, she pulled her car into a space next to a small house in the middle of nowhere. It was perfect…for me.

We walked inside and she poured me a shot of whiskey. I immediately inhaled it and began to feel woozy. Suddenly, I passed out on her couch. When I woke up, I was handcuffed to a pole in what appeared to be a dungeon of some sort. A cross-bow hung on the wall along with other weapons. I tried with all my might to yank free, but it was no use. I was too weak.

The girl from the bar walked up to me while whistling. “Hey, you!” She smiled and squated down. “You should never trust a stranger.”

I gnarled at her, showing my sharp fangs. To my surprise, she laughed. “I can’t believe you didn’t recognize me. I was so surprised when you walked up to me at the bar. It was an easier trap than I thought it would be.” She walked to the wall with the cross-bow. “No more killing from you, mister vampire.”

She shot an arrow directly into my heart. I yelled in pain, and my sight gradually begin to fade. The last thing I saw was her smiling and walking away.

This isn’t my best, but it could be worse. I wrote this in about 20 minutes. I’m just sleepy, dude. Until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

