Story #9

I glance at my watch and realize I’m going to be late. Typical. It’s the most important day of my life and I can’t even make it on time. I look at myself in the mirror one more time. “Well, this is as good as it gets,” I say aloud to myself. I throw on my shoes & rush out the door.

By the time I get there, the line is extremely long. Great. I grab my phone, hop out the car, and fast walk to the end of the line. The place closes at 8pm, but given that it was 7:30pm and the large amount of people waiting, I assumed that they were going to stay open longer.

I hear casual chatter around me. Everyone seems to be talking about everything except for the elephant in the room.

I felt a tap on my shoulder. “Hi, my name Brandon. What’s your name?” A cute guy stood slightly behind me.

“My name is Alana. Nice to meet you.”

Brandon smiled. He was a tall, light-skinned black guy with hazel eyes. He had a million dollar smile. He was also obviously built under his button-up shirt.

“So are you excited,” he asked me.

“Absolutely! This my first time. I’m so anxious! I’ve been waiting for this day for years.”

Brandon enthusiastically shook his head in agreement. “Same here! I didn’t expect there to be so many people today.”

“Well, it’s the last day so I expected it, but I didn’t plan on getting here so close to closing time.”

Brandon and I continued to talk until I made it to the front. It was 8:15pm, but the time didn’t matter.

“Hello, young lady. Please show me your ID and voter’s registration.” I proudly showed both to the man at the table. After a few seconds I was allowed to go to a booth and cast my ballot. I had dreamed of this day for months. I was finally able to vote. Eighteen never felt so sweet.

I quickly typed this on my phone, so excuse any mistakes. I’m sleepy, but I needed to write today. Sometimes I’m so glad to live in America. Our votes count & our voices can be heard. Until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

