Story #7

“Yesterday I sent myself a dozen roses. Is that absolutely pathetic,” May asked her best friend, Sara. Sara stroked her chin, as if pretending to really think about the question.

“Hmmm,” Sara replied. “It depends. What reason did you send yourself flowers?”

“Well, Leo never sends me roses or does anything to show he was just thinking about me. I took the initiative and sent myself some roses to show him what he should do.”

“Who’s bank account did they charge?”

“Mine, of course.”

“Then yes, you are absolutely pathetic. If you wanted him to send you flowers, you should’ve been straight forward and told him. Maybe then you wouldn’t have $30 less in your account.” Sara gave a  knowing smile.

“$26 actually. I suppose you’re right. I just don’t want to be one of those needy girls that begs their boyfriends to do things for them and then get mad when they don’t do it. That’s just not me.” May flopped down on Sara’s comfortable couch and began to take a sip from her green tea.

“No, you just want to be one of those girls that hints things to her boyfriend and then gets mad when he doesn’t take the hint. I think that’s a bit worse. Why can’t you just be open with him?”

This is why May told Sara everything. She made sense of the world. May wished she was more like her best friend. Sara was a successfully published self-help author who lived in a gorgeous flat with her two dogs, Tom and Jerry. She always claimed that those were the only men she’d ever need in her life.

May sighed. “Yeah, you’re right. The hint didn’t work anyways. Leo came home from work, read the card next to the roses, and laughed. He laughed at me! When he saw me staring at him, he said, ‘Cute card, babe.’ What does that even mean?”

“I don’t know. What did the card say?”

“It said, ‘You deserve every bit of happiness. I love you. Love, Me.'”

Sara nearly spit out her tea while trying to hold in her laughter. “You’ve got to be kidding me. Why did you even give yourself a card to go with the flowers? You know what, it doesn’t matter. You’re better than this, May. Why is it that women always scour every little thing that a man does? Maybe he literally thought the card was funny and that was it. Move on, girl. Also, you should send yourself flowers because you want to, not because you want him to do it.”

May wasn’t expecting Sara to respond that way, but she knew that Sara was right. It was time for her to put on her big girl pants and treat herself the way she wants to be treated without worrying about if Leo would do the same for her. It was just so hard.

“But you don’t understand! It’s not even just the flowers. I want him to do more things to show that he cares. I want him to show that he needs me just as much as I need–”

“I’m going to stop you right there. You don’t need any man to be happy. If you care about yourself first, then everything else should fall into place.”

Sara hugged May. “Now, let’s watch this cheesy scary movie and enjoy ourselves without talking about Leo, okay? Let’s just have fun!” May nodded in agreement. It would take time, but she was going to learn how to love herself again.

When ever you’re down in the dumps, your friends are always there to show you your worth. I loved writing this story because it reminded me of a skewed version of my best friend, Monica. We have a balanced friendship like this one. This story was fun to write, especially since I decided to have mainly dialogue this time. **Side note: My boyfriend said that May should just break up with her boyfriend. LOL.

Leave a Reply

