Story #6

When the humans took me away, I thought that I was home. They fed me, gave me a place to sleep, and loved me like no one ever had. My mother had 8 of us, and she didn’t stick around for long. We were left to fend for ourselves.

When the humans took me away, I was only a few months old. Their warm hands caressed my fur and scratched behind my ears. They treated me like a prince. I grew up with them, and they accepted me for who I was.

When the humans took me away, I thought that I was the only one they’d want. I thought that I was enough until they brought home another dog. She was energetic and free and beautiful. I wanted her to stay with us forever.

When the humans took me away, I didn’t think I’d have any more family besides them. I thought that they were the only ones that would love me, until Abby loved me and we had puppies. I now had 2 families and that was 2 more than I ever thought I would have.

When the humans took them away from us, I didn’t know what we did wrong. I protected our babies and so did Abby. She whimpered and cried as the last puppy from our liter was given away. I barked and howled. What more could we do?

After they were gone, I sat by the front door and waited. If the humans really loved us, then they’d bring our babies back home. Abby stopped eating and barely drank any water. We wanted our babies back. We wanted our family back.

After Abby was gone, I sat by the back door and waited. I saw the humans take tools and head to the backyard with her. I think they gave her away, too. I no longer had a second family and the first one was no longer enough.

When the humans took me away, I thought I was home. They didn’t actually love me though. They may have treated me like a prince, but I was not their equal and they gave away my family. I was never a part of their family. I was only their pet.

I actually have a 7mo old puppy named Abby. Things become a little different once you put life in their (a dog’s) perspective. This post actually made me MORE sad than the last one. I love dogs.♡

Leave a Reply

